Brains and bellies

Wow.

So as I said, I got kicked in the head at work. Turns out I have a concussion. I work in social work, supporting individuals who sometimes have behavior challenges. I love what I do. Getting kicked in the head is an occupational risk.

 But holy shit.

My head hurts slightly, but the nausea is something else.

I am back to work today, sitting at my desk, wishing, praying I would just throw up already.

I have a stomach made of iron. I am not a puker. Some people I know puke relatively easy. Not me. If I puke, it means Something Is Seriously Wrong. I puked a lot last year when I got that goddamned Norovirus, and wound up in the emergency room, where they kindly gave me a drug I was allergic to. I’ve puked after drinking too much maybe 3 times in my life. I puked once a lot my sophomore year of college when I got the stomach flu. And once when I got back from Mexico City. I couldn’t be a puking bulimic because I couldn’t, well, puke. It’s just not in me to puke, or be nauseated, really.

But today, I wish I could puke. Holy fuck.

It’s amazing to me how getting kicked in the forehead affects my stomach. It’s amazing to me the ties between the belly and brain. I mean, I know there’s all sorts of cranio-sacral massage and therapies and whatnot, but the older I get, the more I see the ties between my own head and stomach. Apparently, cutting out most refined sugars in my diet helped both the IBS and the frequency of my chronic migraines. If my stomach hurts, my head hurts. And now that I got kicked in the head, my stomach hurts.

It’s interesting to me, this tie. If I think bad thoughts about my body and my belly, will it hurt? Is the link that inextricable? I am betting it must be, given what I am experiencing now.

5 Comments

  1. jamboree said,

    February 15, 2008 at 11:49 am

    I’m often amazed at the complexities and subtleties of the body and its workings. My pregnancy nausea never hit me until after I took that test… a few hours later, sure enough, I would be feeling miserable. Is it a physical thing (because, obviously, there was a reason for the nausea), or was the timing of it purely induced by my thoughts? Looking back on it, it was probably both.

    In short, I think our thoughts affect our bodies. Definitely.

  2. OTM said,

    February 15, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    I am SO not a puker. I hate to vomit. HATE IT. I will writhe in misery for hours rather than make myself puke. So I feel you.

    Nausea is a side effect of a concussion though, no?

  3. Jen Smith said,

    February 15, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Im so glad you got your head checked out – I was worried about you after reading your post the other day about how fuzzy you were feeling. Get some rest girl – you deserve it! Who knew that social work was such a battleground!

    Regarding puking – I have a horrible life-limiting puke phobia. Im not having children cuz I couldnt handle it. I dont go to amusement parks, concerts or anyplace where anyone would be likely to get sick. I wont go to movies anymore because they are too graphic with the puke scenes.

    I can even pinpoint where I got the phobia. Fuckin first grade teacher! A nun, reading from the bible (hmm maybe that was the start of my anti-religion years) yelled at me when I raised my hand to go to the restroom and then HELD ME IN MY CHAIR until I puked on her shoes. Then she screamed at me for doing that.

    Doesnt help knowing how and why though – I am just hard-wired not to puke – done it twice since third grade and once was 5 hours after being given ipecac when I od’ed in college.

    Go Home and get some rest Girl!
    Jen

  4. Eli said,

    February 15, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Wow, when you mentioned you’d gotten kicked in the head at work, I assumed it was a metaphor for being taken to task about something, not a literal kick in the head.

    Take care of yourself and I hope you feel better soon.

  5. thoughtracer said,

    February 18, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Yep, nausea is apparently a side effect of a concussion. Why? I don’t know. I’m blaming god. I puke maybe once every three years. But if I am going to be hideously nauseous (how do you even spell that damn word, anyway) I’d rather just puke and be done with it. I don’t know. Puking doesn’t bother me too much, I just can’t do it.


Leave a Reply

