Weekend fluff-stuff

OMG. I went snowshoeing for the first time today, and I loved it.

I didn’t even know people snowshoed still. Like yes, it is a winter recrcreation that has extended beyond people who engage in fur-trapping, and you don’t use contraptions that look like badminton rackets on your feet to trounce around in the snow.

So we went for an hour, and it was great.

Even more importantly, I had to buy a ton of snow-acceptable clothing, and I was actually able to find clothing that fit at REI. Yes people: As a large adult female, I now am the proud owner of snow pants that fit, (XXL mens, albeit) which means I can now roll around gloriously in the snow like a 263 pound child. Oh, the delight. I have been raving on about the thrill of finding fucking snow pants that fit for like 2 days. By the time N reads this, she is going to be like: Stop with the snowpants already. But for me, they were literally like Manna From Heaven.

Seriously, people, I am going to be buried in these snowpants. True story.

And good god, it is snowing here again, which officially makes this the goddamned snowiest winter since like 1976, which is only made tolerable by the advent of snowpants that fit.

Did I mention I bought new snowpants?

Alright, I am being insufferable now, I know.

See you Monday!

4 Comments

  1. Bekbek said,

    February 9, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    They are so freaky expensive, but I luuuuuv REI. I have a ton of their camping gear and it’s good stuff.
    You make me miss playing in the snow. i used to snitch my dad’s superwarm mechanic overalls to use as a snowsuit when we’d build forts and skate and roll around in snow.

  2. Orodemniades said,

    February 9, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Where did you get your snowshoes? I can’t seem to find any (for a reasonable price) for weights more than 250lbs.

  3. hotsauce said,

    February 10, 2008 at 3:42 am

    hee! i love snowshoeing! i went for the first time this winter and i’m completely obsessed now.

  4. thoughtracer said,

    February 10, 2008 at 10:10 am

    I rented mine at REI. I am sure they gave me mine based on looking at me and figuring I weighed more than 250. But looking at buying them, it appears for weights of more than 250, you need shoes with lengths of 30 inches. Some say that they won’t cupport anyone more than 275, btu I am nearing that, and I don’t see how that could make any difference, really.


Leave a Reply

