The personal touch of Rachel Moss

I wasn’t going to get all outraged about the WisCon drama that is all over the the blogosphere, because enough people have. Honestly, I live in Wisconsin, and I didn’t even know that there was a sci fi convention going on anywhere in the state.

But then I went and looked at the pictures, and read the comments, and saw that someone I personally know, with whom I have personally sat in sacred space, who has shared the story of her body with me, trashed all over the internet. 

Whoa.

Rachel Moss, let me tell you something: It sucks to get threats. It sucks to be so damn visible. It sucks to have your beliefs get you in trouble. Welcome to the real world. Karma’s a bitch, especially in the digital age. 

I spoke to this friend of mine on Facebook and let her know of stupid Rachel Moss. Stupid the nicest thing I can think to say, really. My friend already knew about it, and she has responded here.

Enough’s enough. Fat fights back. But you probably didn’t figure that.

 

 

5 Comments

  1. Becky said,

    May 29, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Your friend is an amazing person.

  2. vesta44 said,

    May 29, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    Your friend is certainly an amazing person, that’s for sure. As for this Rachel person, I think she’s finding out that what goes around, comes around, in triplicate, and maybe then some. I really don’t think she thought anyone would find out, and if they did, that they would care so much about her nastiness. Guess again. We do care about our own (and by our own, I mean anyone who is different than society deems “normal”) and we will defend them. Maybe she’ll think twice before pulling this kind of crap again (or maybe not, depending on how dysfunctional she is).

  3. vesta44 said,

    May 29, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    crap, I didn’t mean for a wink to show up after “normal”. I guess a ” followed by ) is a wink. Who knew? LOL

  4. Cindy said,

    May 30, 2008 at 10:18 am

    I still don’t understand why Rachel Moss would attend a scifi feminist convention when she so obviously struggles with her antipathy for women.

  5. June 1, 2008 at 7:01 am

    […] A Flight of Ideas: The personal touch of Rachel Moss […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

